Loading content, please wait.. loading..
.. .. .. Jehlum
header image
About Us | Admissions | Academics | Affiliated Colleges | Careers | Campus Life | Site Map | Info Desk
Home > Quaid-i-Azam > Science > Department of Physics
News Updates
Admission Forms & Fee for B.Com. Part-I, II Annual Examinations 2015
Admission Forms & Fee for M.A./ M.Sc. Annual Examination 2015
Registration of Private Candidates for M.A. Part-I Annual Examination 2015
Registration of Private Candidates for B.Com Part-I Annual Examination 2015
Notice Board
Will be updated soon.
press   Webmail
rozee   SGCC
online_library.   DEL
Department of Physics

The Department of Physics, University of the Punjab, Lahore is the oldest department in the subject of Physics amongst the universities of the country. It was established in 1951 with Dr. A. Majid Mian as its head. Afterwards Prof. Dr. A. Basir Pal was appointed head of the department until his retirement in 1970. In the last 30 years the most conspicuous Chairmen/Heads include Prof. Dr. M. A. Shah, Prof. Dr. M. A. Shaukat, Prof. Dr. M. Saleem, Prof. Dr. M. S. Zafar, Prof. Dr. Mujahid Kamran and Prof .Dr. Shaukat Ali among others. Dr. S.H. Tirmazi also acted as the head of the department for somtime. The department was shifted from Allama Iqbal Campus (Old Campus) in the year 1965 to Quaid-i-Azam Campus (New Campus). The department has produced many brilliant physicists who have served or have been serving in various national and international institutes and research organizations for the last many years.
      The mission of the Department of Physics is to produce graduates of international caliber with knowledge and skills needed for the socio-economic development of the country. The department also provides enabling environment and infrastructure for optimum utilization of potential of faculty, staff and students.


Teaching Faculty

Publications/ Research / Books



Home | About Us | PU at Glance | Lahore at Glance | Affiliated Colleges | Careers | Contact Us |
  Copyright © 2014 University of the Punjab. All rights reserved
Connect with: